Canadian Tire Corporation Investing $200 Million In New Store Format
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Canadian Tire Corporation plans to invest $200 million in Mark’s stores through 2028, expanding the retailer’s Bigger, Bolder, Better format. Mark’s expects 40 of its 387 locations to be new or converted to the format by the end of 2028; the company reports higher new-customer acquisition at these stores, though it has not disclosed the investment breakdown or specific sales figures.

Canadian Tire Corporation plans to invest $200 million in Mark’s stores through 2028, expanding its Bigger, Bolder, Better format as it opens the concept’s largest location to date in Thunder Bay, Ontario. The commitment is part of the company’s broader store and customer-experience strategy and is intended to bring the updated format to more communities.

Mark’s currently operates 21 new-format stores across Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec. The company expects 40 of its 387 stores to be new or converted to the format by the end of 2028. Canadian Tire said the rollout will reach both major urban centres and regional markets, but did not provide a location-by-location schedule for the remaining openings or conversions.

Several stores have opened during 2026, including locations in Calgary, Edmonton, Lloydminster, Sarnia, Guelph and North Bay, as well as the Thunder Bay store. Mark’s plans to open one more new-format store before the end of the year, according to the source report. The Thunder Bay location measures more than 36,000 gross square feet and features a larger footprint, expanded assortments, upgraded fitting rooms, a new service model and additional omnichannel options.

The store includes expanded casualwear and workwear and dedicated shop-in-shop areas for brands including Columbia, Silver Jeans, Carhartt, Timberland and Levi’s. Mark’s said the format gives it more room for national and owned brands while retaining its workwear offering. The company describes itself as Canada’s largest seller of Levi’s denim; that characterization comes from Mark’s and is not independently established in the source material.

Canadian Tire reported that new-customer acquisition at the new-format stores is up nearly 50%, compared with 7.5% across the rest of Mark’s network. The source does not specify the measurement period, define the acquisition metric, or provide absolute customer counts. The company also described the stores’ results as strong but did not publish store-level sales, profit or return figures.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced in 2026; investment planned t…
The developmentCanadian Tire Corporation announced a $200 million investment in Mark’s stores through 2028 as it expands the chain’s Bigger, Bolder, Better format.

A Larger Role for Mark’s

The investment signals that Canadian Tire intends to put more capital behind a format it says is drawing new customers to Mark’s. For shoppers, the planned changes could mean larger stores, broader clothing selections and updated fitting rooms in additional communities. The expanded casualwear offer may also bring the chain to customers who have mainly associated it with industrial workwear.

For the corporation, the decision connects a specific retail rollout to its wider True North strategy, which includes a stated $2 billion in capital investment over four years. Canadian Tire says that plan focuses on data-driven customer relationships, growth in core retail, its Triangle Rewards loyalty ecosystem and targeted capital spending. The $200 million commitment to Mark’s is one part of that plan, not the full amount of the corporation’s investment.

The customer-acquisition comparison provides an indication of why the company is expanding the format, but it is not by itself evidence of higher profitability. Without the measurement window, costs, comparable sales and margins, readers cannot tell from the disclosed figures how much of the reported customer growth translates into financial returns.

Products Worth Considering

Makita SP6000J1 6-1/2-Inch Plunge Circular Saw Kit with 55-Inch Guide Rail

Makita SP6000J1 6-1/2-Inch Plunge Circular Saw Kit with 55-Inch Guide Rail

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Store Rollout Began

The new format is part of Mark’s effort to build on its established workwear business while growing its presence in casual apparel. Canadian Tire says the stores create additional space for both national labels and owned brands such as Wind River and Denver Hayes. It has framed the concept as a way to broaden the banner’s appeal while retaining its existing customer base and product strengths.

The rollout is also tied to a wider transformation of Canadian Tire’s store network and omnichannel customer experience. The company’s four-year True North plan calls for $2 billion in capital investment across its business. The source report does not specify how the $200 million earmarked for Mark’s will be divided among new stores, renovations, technology, staffing or other expenses.

At the time of the announcement, Mark’s had 21 locations in the new format and a total network of 387 stores. The target of 40 new or converted locations by the end of 2028 represents a measured expansion, rather than a plan to convert the entire chain. The Thunder Bay opening is the latest example and the largest store so far under the concept.

““The strong response to our new stores gives us confidence to bring the experience to even more Canadians.””

— PJ Czank, president of Mark’s

Investment and Results Still Unspecified

Canadian Tire has not detailed how the $200 million will be allocated, how many stores will be newly built versus converted, or which communities will receive future locations. The company also has not released a full schedule for reaching 40 new-format stores by the end of 2028.

The reported customer-acquisition figures lack a stated time period and methodology. The source gives no store-level sales, margin, operating-cost or investment-return data, so the financial performance of the format cannot be assessed from the figures available. The company’s descriptions of strong results and customer response are attributed statements, not independently verified measures in the report.

More Openings Through 2028

Mark’s plans to open one additional new-format location by the end of 2026, following the openings reported in several Canadian cities and the Thunder Bay launch. The company expects the network of new or converted stores to reach 40 by the end of 2028, with locations planned for major urban centres and regional markets.

Further announcements should clarify where the next stores will open and how the investment is being spent. As the rollout proceeds, comparable sales, customer-acquisition definitions and margin data would help show whether the reported customer response is translating into sustained financial performance. The source report does not identify a later update date or provide additional milestones beyond the planned openings and 2028 store target.

Key Questions

How much is Canadian Tire investing in Mark’s?

Canadian Tire Corporation says it will invest $200 million in Mark’s stores through 2028. The company has not disclosed a breakdown of how the money will be spent.

What is the Bigger, Bolder, Better store format?

It is Mark’s updated store concept, with a larger footprint, broader workwear and casualwear assortments, upgraded fitting rooms and a new service model. The Thunder Bay location also includes shop-in-shop areas for several national brands.

How many Mark’s stores will use the new format?

Mark’s expects 40 of its 387 stores to be new or converted to the format by the end of 2028. The chain currently has 21 new-format locations, according to the source report.

What has Mark’s reported about customer growth?

Canadian Tire reported that new-customer acquisition at new-format stores is up nearly 50%, compared with 7.5% across the rest of Mark’s network. The report does not state the measurement period or explain the metric’s methodology.

Where is the largest new-format Mark’s store?

The largest location to date is in Thunder Bay, Ontario. It is more than 36,000 gross square feet, according to the source report.

Source: hardwareretailing.com

You May Also Like

IKEA Just Launched This New Idea That Makes It Easier To Work From Your Sofa — But Is It Good For You?

IKEA’s KRAMPHULT/SKÅDIS armrest tray adds a laptop surface and storage for sofa work, but experts recommend using the sofa occasionally.

What Is Kogei? This Japanese Idea Of Craft Will Revive Your Eye For Artful Displays

Kogei describes Japanese everyday objects shaped by local materials, inherited knowledge and human judgment—not simply items made by hand.

New Kobalt 24V Tools At Lowe’s – Same Price, Lower Performance

Lowe’s listings show new $99 Kobalt 24V drill and impact driver kits with lower advertised specs and 45W chargers than current kits.

Art Center Surges In Global Coverage

Recent spike in media mentions signals increased international interest in Art Center, with coverage rising 11-fold compared to baseline, triggering widespread attention.