TL;DR
Get tools and workshop supplies delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
CNET reviewer Tyler Lacoma tested Chamberlain’s $379 Premier Smart Garage Door Opener, which combines remote door controls, a security camera with AI features and bright LED lighting. The upgrade requires replacement of the motor, rail, sensors and wired controller, and some advanced features require a subscription.
CNET reviewer Tyler Lacoma tested Chamberlain’s $379 Premier Smart Garage Door Opener, a system that combines remote garage-door controls with a security camera and 2,000-lumen LED lights. The review found broad control options and quieter operation after installation, while noting that the upgrade replaces key garage hardware and that some advanced features require a subscription.
The system works through Chamberlain’s MyQ app, which lets users open or close the garage remotely and receive alerts when the door moves. Lacoma also used the included wall controller, remote controls and outdoor keypad. The app supports timers that close the door after a selected interval and schedules for opening or closing it at set times. The opener is also compatible with HomeLink, which may allow connection to compatible vehicle dashboards.
The camera offers AI detection and adjustable motion zones, according to the review. Users can turn camera features off or adjust them, though the source says some advanced features require a subscription. MyQ also offers one-time access options for Amazon Key-In deliveries. Lacoma did not test an Amazon delivery during the review, so the article does not establish how that feature worked in practice.
The tested model had two LED lights, each part of a setup rated at 2,000 lumens; the reviewer said they lit the garage without the existing overhead lights. Motion activation and how long the lights stay on can be changed, but brightness cannot. Chamberlain sells several versions, including models with one or two lights, so lighting capacity depends on the selected model.
A Garage Upgrade With Wider Reach
The review presents the opener as a combined garage access and security system, rather than a device limited to opening a door remotely. Alerts, timed closing and camera monitoring could help owners check whether the garage is open and watch entry points. The lights may also replace separate overhead fixtures in some garages, based on the reviewer’s test of the two-light model.
Those capabilities come with a larger installation commitment. The door itself stays in place, but the review says the motor, at least some railing, aligned sensor and wired controller need replacement. That affects both the cost and effort involved: the listed $379 price is for the device, while the supplied source does not state the price of professional installation or any subscription.
Replacing the Garage Hardware
Lacoma says the installation was a major upgrade, not a simple add-on to the existing opener. Chamberlain connected the reviewer with a local installer, who found the supplied rail was too short for the garage and replaced it with a compatible one. The reviewer recommends professional installation, although the article says a do-it-yourself installation is technically possible.
After installation, Lacoma reported that the new motor and rail made the door move more quietly and smoothly than it had during years of repairs. The source lists the tested opener’s motor at 1.4 horsepower in its product summary, while the body describes the installed setup as 1 and ¼ horsepower. The material provided does not explain that difference.
“I came away impressed with those features.”
— Tyler Lacoma, CNET reviewer
Subscription and Delivery Questions
The supplied review material does not identify which camera or AI functions require a paid subscription, how much that subscription costs, or whether the fee is monthly or annual. It also does not report a test of Amazon Key-In deliveries, despite describing the app’s one-time access option. The real-world performance of that delivery feature therefore remains unverified in this account.
Installation costs, ongoing reliability and compatibility with particular garage layouts are not detailed. The reviewer’s rail needed replacement to fit the test garage, which shows that fit can depend on the site, but the source does not specify which measurements buyers should check. The horsepower figures differ between the product summary and review text, and the provided material offers no clarification.
Further Testing and Buyer Checks
Lacoma said they planned to test the Amazon Key-In delivery option when an eligible delivery became available. The supplied source does not give a date for that follow-up. Prospective buyers can compare Chamberlain’s one-light and two-light versions and check the required hardware and subscription terms before deciding whether the combined camera, controls and lighting fit their needs.
The review’s account suggests confirming garage dimensions and installation requirements with a qualified installer before purchase, particularly because the supplied rail did not fit the test garage. The source gives no installation quote or complete compatibility list, leaving those questions for Chamberlain or a local installer.
Key Questions
How much does Chamberlain’s Premier Smart Garage Door Opener cost?
The review lists a price of $379. It does not give the cost of installation or any subscription.
What does the MyQ app let owners do?
The app can open or close the door remotely, send movement alerts, set closing timers and create schedules. The system also offers one-time access options for Amazon Key-In deliveries.
Does installation require replacing the garage door?
No. The review says the garage door itself remains unchanged, while the motor, at least some railing, the aligned sensor and the wired controller need replacement.
Did the reviewer test Amazon Key-In?
No. Lacoma said no Amazon delivery arrived during the test period and described plans to try the feature later. Its performance was not verified in the review.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
