Apple Just Declared War On Smart Home Security
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Apple announced a smart lock and four security cameras developed with LG, expanding its Apple Home lineup beyond the HomeView smart display. The products have listed prices and advertised features, but Apple has not disclosed the cost of camera recognition features or the amount of local video storage.

Apple announced a smart lock and four security cameras developed with LG at its Tuesday “Welcome Home” event, expanding the company’s Apple Home lineup beyond its new HomeView display. The products add door and indoor security options, but subscription pricing, storage limits and some privacy details remain undisclosed.

The lineup includes a $349.95 smart lock with a circular keypad that is designed to twist for manual unlocking. Apple has not provided a full feature list. The lock is expected to support Apple Home Keys and related auto-unlocking, and the announcement says it supports Matter, which can allow compatibility with Alexa and Google Home, as well as Apple Home. It also supports Aliro, a standard intended to enable digital-wallet access, including Samsung Wallet.

The four cameras are listed at 2.5K resolution: a $249.95 video doorbell, a $399.95 wired floodlight camera, a $199.95 indoor camera and a $299.95 outdoor camera. The doorbell uses two cameras to capture a wider view and a closer view of the porch. Apple says the indoor camera can adjust its angle when someone looks through it and lower itself when residents return home.

Apple says the cameras can recognize people, pets, vehicles, packages and familiar faces, and can be viewed on devices including iPhones, Apple TVs and HomeView. Siri AI is also expected to describe footage and answer questions about it. An iCloud Plus plan is required for the camera features, according to the report; Apple has not stated the additional cost or how much local backup video the cameras can hold.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced Tuesday at Apple’s “Welcome H…
The developmentApple introduced a coordinated set of LG-made smart security products for Apple Home, including a lock, doorbell and three other cameras.

Apple Adds Security Across the Home

The announcement gives Apple customers a more connected set of home security devices from one product ecosystem, rather than relying only on separate accessories. A lock, doorbell and indoor and outdoor cameras could be managed through Apple Home and viewed on Apple devices, reducing the need to switch between apps for basic household monitoring.

Compatibility with Matter and Aliro may also make the lock useful beyond Apple’s own ecosystem, though real-world compatibility and setup details remain to be tested. The listed prices put these products at a meaningful purchase cost, while the required iCloud Plus plan adds a recurring-cost question for customers comparing them with competing camera systems.

The face-recognition feature adds a separate policy and privacy issue. More descriptive alerts may help residents identify visitors, but cameras could also capture people who have not agreed to be identified. Apple’s entry into the category makes its handling of footage, face data and local processing important to consumers weighing convenience against privacy.

Amazon

Apple HomeKit compatible smart lock

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Display to Security System

Apple has been a comparatively cautious participant in the smart-home market, according to CNET’s report. Earlier efforts included limited partnerships such as an LG Circle security camera, while the new products represent a broader collaboration with LG Electronics and Schneider Electric. Apple introduced the HomeView smart display at the same event, placing the security products within a wider Apple Home push.

Apple Vice President of Hardware Engineering Matthew Costello said the accessories were designed to work with Apple Home and emphasized simplicity, reliability and privacy. CNET’s account describes the devices as products still to be tested; its report includes impressions from an in-person preview, not independent long-term testing or a full review.

Face recognition is already a contested feature in home surveillance. The source report points to restrictions in some jurisdictions and lawsuits involving rival camera companies. Those examples indicate that rules and disputes vary by location and company; they do not establish how Apple’s implementation will be treated under each law.

““Apple Home Collection makes it easy to choose smart home accessories with confidence.””

— Matthew Costello, Apple’s vice president of hardware engineering

Amazon

LG Apple Home security cameras

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Subscription and Privacy Details Pending

Apple has not announced the price of the required iCloud Plus plan for these camera features, whether customers will need a particular plan tier, or how the new footage will count against existing storage. It also has not specified the capacity of local storage used when cloud service is unavailable.

The report says Apple describes Home app data as end-to-end encrypted and says footage is processed locally on an Apple Home hub or through Private Cloud Compute, with footage also stored in iCloud. The supplied material cuts off before giving further detail about that storage. It does not establish precisely how familiar-face data is handled, how long it is retained, what controls users have over recognition, or how the feature will work in jurisdictions with restrictions.

Launch dates, full technical specifications and independent performance results are also absent from the source material. The reported prices and advertised capabilities should not be treated as a substitute for hands-on testing.

Amazon

2.5K resolution outdoor security camera

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Awaiting Launch and Full Specifications

The next key information will be availability dates and complete product specifications, along with Apple’s explanation of iCloud Plus requirements, storage capacity and controls for familiar-face recognition. Those details will help customers compare the products’ total cost and assess how the system handles video and identifying information.

Once the devices are available for testing, practical questions include how reliably the lock and cameras work, how well Matter and Aliro integrations function, and whether Siri’s footage descriptions are useful in everyday situations. The source report does not give a release schedule, so when customers can buy or test the products remains unknown.

Amazon

smart home security system with face recognition

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What did Apple announce?

Apple announced an LG-developed smart lock and four security cameras for Apple Home at its “Welcome Home” event, alongside the HomeView smart display.

How much do the announced products cost?

Listed prices are $349.95 for the lock, $249.95 for the video doorbell, $399.95 for the wired floodlight camera, $199.95 for the indoor camera and $299.95 for the outdoor camera.

Will the smart lock work with systems beyond Apple Home?

The announcement says the lock supports Matter, which can enable use with Alexa and Google Home as well as Apple Home. It also supports Aliro for digital-wallet access. Compatibility in practice has not been independently tested in the source report.

What is known about camera subscriptions and storage?

Apple says an iCloud Plus plan is required for the camera features and that 10 days of video storage is included. The additional plan cost and local storage capacity have not been disclosed.

When will the products be available?

The source material does not provide a release date. Apple’s availability schedule remains unclear.

Source: rss

FALL YARD WORK

Fall yard work Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Spraying Windex On Caulk: Why It Is Recommended And What It Is For

The glass cleaner can help a tool or finger glide over fresh silicone caulk, but it is a finishing aid—not a cleaner or adhesion booster.

Helping 25,000 Veterans And Military Families Build Careers In Skilled Trades

Google says it will support career training, coaching and job placement for 25,000 veterans and military family members.

Milwaukee Vs Makita Circular Saw Review: Who’s A Cut Above?

Pro Tool Reviews’ tests found Milwaukee’s M18 Fuel 2834 faster in two demanding OSB rip cuts; both saws handled standard cuts well.

12 Weekend Landscaping Projects That’ll Boost Your Curb Appeal, According To Experts

House Beautiful asked landscaping experts for 12 weekend yard projects, from refreshing a planter to adding lighting and pollinator-friendly plants.